## Editorial

## New Section in EPJ C direct: Young Scientists

This section is part of EPJ C direct and is dedicated to outstanding contributions from young scientists. The section is launched with the prize winners of the International School of Subnuclear Physics held at Erice in summer 2003 and organized by A. Zichichi and G. 't Hooft. The participants of the School had the opportunity to present their own scientific work in the "Special Sessions for New Talents" in front of a critical audience. A jury of the organizers, the lecturers and invited distinguished scientists selected the most prominent contributions and invited the authors to submit their work.

Heidelberg, October 2004

Jochen Bartels and Dieter Haidt Editors-in-Chief